Two African women have won this year’s Nobel Peace Prize : both Liberian, President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and Leymah Gbowee.

They follow the late Wangari Maathai (RIP) of Kenya who won in 2004. And the message is clear : African women are rising to their rightful place in society, and are well placed to make this world a better place.

But, women across the globe can rejoice : Tawakul Karman of Yemen also won, recognized for her unrelenting struggle to free Yemen from the yoke of dictatorship.

Past African Nobel Laureates are :

1. Albert Luthuli (South Africa) – 1960.

2. Anwar El Sadat (Egypt) – 1978

3. Archibishop Desmond Tutu (South Africa) – 1984

4. Wole Soyinka (Nigeria) – 1986

5. Nelson Mandela (South Africa) – 1993

6. Kofi Annan (Ghana) – 2001

7.  Wangari Maathai (Kenya) – 2004


One response to “AFRICAN WOMEN NOBEL LAUREATES: Good news, indeed.

  1. Its about time!! I hope this galvanises African goverments to commit
    to gender equality. Africa is missing out on the potential talents of almost
    half of its workforce.

    I am glad countries like Rwanda are at the forefront of this issue.
    Witness what its done for the Nordic countries.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s